What are the 7 basic plot structures?

What are the 7 basic plot structures?

The plots

  • Overcoming the monster.
  • Rags to riches.
  • The quest.
  • Voyage and return.
  • Comedy.
  • Tragedy.
  • Rebirth.

What are the 7 major plots in storytelling?

According to Booker, all the stories ever told can be divvied up across these seven categories:

  • Overcoming the Monster.
  • Rags to Riches.
  • The Quest.
  • Voyage and Return.
  • Comedy.
  • Tragedy.
  • Rebirth.

How many basic story plots are there?

seven basic plots
Booker suggests that five of the seven basic plots (Overcoming the Monster, Rags to Riches, the Quest, Voyage and Return, and Rebirth) can really be placed under the larger umbrella of Comedy: in their purest form, all have happy endings, all trace a hero’s journey from immaturity to self-realization, and all end with …

What are the basic plots of all literature?

So, without further ado, here are the nine basic plots…

  • Overcoming the Monster. Overcoming the Monster stories involve a hero who must destroy a monster (or villain) that is threatening the community.
  • Rags to Riches.
  • Quest.
  • Voyage and Return.
  • Comedy.
  • Tragedy.
  • Rebirth.

Are there really only 7 basic plots?

Many academics, most notably author Christopher Booker, believe there are only seven basic narrative plots in all of storytelling – frameworks that are recycled again and again in fiction but populated by different settings, characters, and conflicts.

What are the 7 tropes?


  • Overcoming the Monster. Hero learns of a great evil threatening the land, and sets out to destroy it.
  • Rags to Riches.
  • The Quest.
  • Voyage and Return.
  • Comedy.
  • Tragedy.
  • Rebirth.

What are the seven archetypes?

The Archetypes

  • Hero. A hero willingly sacrifices their needs for others.
  • Mentor. A teacher or trainer who aids the hero by teaching and protecting them.
  • Threshold Guardian. A character who serves to keep the unworthy from entering.
  • Herald.
  • Shadow.
  • Trickster.
  • Shapeshifter.

Is there really only 36 plots?

Frederick Palmers created an “encyclopedia” of 36 plot situations in 1922, a Christopher Booker outlined seven basic plots in 2005 and earlier this year, Matthew Jockers used computer analysis of more than 40,000 novels to conclude that all literature follows only six possible stories.

What are the 5 main plots?

Generally speaking, every plot has these five elements in this order:

  • Exposition/introduction.
  • Rising action.
  • Climax/turning point.
  • Falling action.
  • Resolution/denouement.

What are the 5 basic plots?

Five types of plots

  • Exposition. Exposition is the beginning of the story and prepares the way for upcoming events to unfold.
  • Rising Action. It is that point where the main problem or conflict is revealed.
  • Climax.
  • Falling Action.
  • Resolution.

What are the 37 plots?

Each situation is stated, then followed by the necessary elements for each situation and a brief description.

  • Supplication.
  • Deliverance.
  • Crime pursued by vengeance.
  • Vengeance taken for kin upon kin.
  • Pursuit.
  • Disaster.
  • Falling prey to cruelty/misfortune.
  • Revolt.

Is it true there are only 36 plots?

The author Ronald Tobias, the researchers point out, came up with 20 “master plots”, including “underdog”, “metamorphosis”, “ascension” and “descension”. Georges Polti topped Tobias with 36: ranging from “rivalry of kinsmen” to “falling prey to cruelty of misfortune”.

Are there only 7 stories in the world?

What are the types of plots?

What are plot archetypes?

An archetype is a character type, storyline, or event that is notably recurrent across the human experience. In the arts, an archetype creates a sense of familiarity, allowing an audience member to easily comprehend an event or character.

What are the 5 types of plots?

What are the 6 plots?

That said, Vonnegut’s six basic plots are:

  • Rags to Riches (Rise)
  • Riches to Rags (Fall)
  • Man in a Hole (Fall, then rise)
  • Icarus (Rise, then fall)
  • Cinderella (Rise, fall, rise)
  • Oedipus (Fall, rise, fall)

What are the 26 plots?

What are the 38 movie plots?

What are the 5 types of plot?

What are the 17 stages of the hero’s journey?

The monomyth featuring three of your favorite franchises!

  • The Hero’s Journey Begins. Call to Action.
  • The Hero Hesitates. Refusal of Call.
  • The Hero Receives Assistance. Supernatural Aid.
  • The Hero Commits. Crossing The Threshold.
  • The Hero is Challenged. Belly of the Whale.
  • The Hero is Tested.
  • The Great Advisor.
  • The Hero is Torn.