Tips and tricks

What are the 5 constitutional provisions?

What are the 5 constitutional provisions?

Constitutional Provisions:

  • The Governor. Article 153. Governors of States.
  • Executive Power. Article 154. Executive power of State.
  • Appointment. Article 155.
  • Term of Office. Article 156.
  • Qualifications. Article 157.
  • Conditions of Office. Article 158.
  • OATH. Article 159.
  • Functions in contingencies. Article 160.

Did Zimbabwe enact a new Constitution?

The three political parties in Zimbabwe, ZANU-PF, MDC-T and MDC-N negotiated a new proposed constitution after a constitutional outreach program. The new constitution was approved in the referendum of 16 March 2013. The parliament approved it on 9 May 2013.

What are the main provisions in Constitution?

(i) To provide adequate means of livelihood for all the citizens. (ii) To secure equal pay for work to both men and women. (iii) To protect the workers, especially children. (iv) To regulate the economic system of the country that it does not lead to concentration of wealth and means of production.

Who wrote the Constitution of Zimbabwe?

The document was drafted by the Constitution Parliamentary Select Committee (COPAC). COPAC comprises 25 members, appointed by the Committee on Standing Rules and Orders of Zimbabwe’s Parliament from the three political parties represented in the Parliament.

When did the new Zimbabwe Constitution come into effect?

The new Zimbabwe Constitution was enacted by the Constitution of Zimbabwe Amendment (No. 20) Act, which was gazetted as a law on 22nd May 2013. The Constitution’s effective date is 22nd August 2013.

What is the National Assembly of Zimbabwe?

( I ) The National AssenÄbly consists of two hundred and ten members elected by secret ballot from the two hundred and ten constituencies into which Zimbabwe is divided; and

How many constituencies are there in Zimbabwe?

For the purpose of electing Members of Parliament, the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission must divide Zimbabwe into two hundred and ten constituencies. 2.

What kind of government does Zimbabwe have?

Zimbabwe is a unitary, democratic and sovereign republic. ( l ) This Constitution is the supreme law of Zimbabwe and any law, practice, custorn or conduct inconsistent with it is invalid to the extent of the inconsistency.